DISContinuum DISCussion

Disc Golf Related => PDGA Discussion => Topic started by: CEValkyrie on September 27, 2004, 07:07:47 AM

Title: Rules
Post by: CEValkyrie on September 27, 2004, 07:07:47 AM
This came up yestarday. During rounds, to save time, I like to mark my disc even it's not my turn to putt. I don't do this all the time. Only the times that I can mark it without distracting the other player. It's actually quicker because i'm marking as the other player is walking to his lie then all I have to do is walk up and putt.

I was told that once I mark my lie, I have 30 seconds to shoot.

Any opinions?

Here is the PDGA Rule.
801.03  EXCESSIVE TIME  
A. A maximum of 30 seconds is allowed to each player to make a throw after:
(1) the previous player has thrown; and,
(2) the player has taken a reasonable time to arrive at the disc and mark the lie; and,
(3) the playing area is clear and free of distractions.

Title: Rules
Post by: SERG on September 27, 2004, 07:20:03 AM
If the previous player hasn't thrown, then it sounds like you still have your time. That seems to be the first criteria, then you have 30 seconds.
Title: Rules
Post by: damonshort on September 27, 2004, 07:21:25 AM
QuoteIf the previous player hasn't thrown, then it sounds like you still have your time. That seems to be the first criteria, then you have 30 seconds.
well, yeah, that seems obvious. Somebody in your group having a bad round yesterday?  :P  
Title: Rules
Post by: mirth on September 27, 2004, 07:25:56 AM
If you're not out then its not your turn to throw. There is the suggestion at the end of the rulebook to help the speed of play, but thats only if the away person consents.

I think somebody was just having a bad day or didn't understand the rule...
Title: Rules
Post by: CEValkyrie on September 27, 2004, 10:08:12 AM
It was only brought up as a discussion to point out that once you placed your mini the clock started ticking. There was no violation calls & he wasn't being a jerk. He was having the round of his career so it wasn't because of a bad day. I said I hadn't heard of that rule & I was a certified official. I looked at my rule book to double check.  
Title: Rules
Post by: tree on September 27, 2004, 10:54:55 AM
Seems to me this was a point of contention at 2004 Worlds too.