DISContinuum DISCussion

Disc Golf Related => PDGA Discussion => Topic started by: SIUFrolf on September 19, 2006, 02:19:45 PM

Title: Rules Question
Post by: SIUFrolf on September 19, 2006, 02:19:45 PM
During the second round at Aurora on Sat., a player in my group was walking to the next hole forgeting to hole out, he didn't get far when we told him he needed to finish,  but it got us wondering.  If for some reason a player forgets to putt out a hole and then proceeds to drive on the next hole, what penalties would he take?  Another part would be that if he finally remembered (probably next time he needed to putt) and the group behind us already finished the hole, would there be more penalties assessed? (sp?)  I'm sorry if this is confusing but I would really like to know the answer.
Title: Re: Rules Question
Post by: tacimala on September 19, 2006, 02:23:02 PM
I believe he would take a 7 for that hole before. I would wait for someone more well versed in the rules to respond though.
Title: Re: Rules Question
Post by: Mukey on September 19, 2006, 02:32:39 PM
Checked PDGA.com really quick & it seems that forgetting to hole out gets you a 2 stroke penalty. If they didn't show up in time for the hole then it would be a 7.

803.13  Holing Out 
A. A player who fails to play any hole or fails to hole out on any hole during the round may be disqualified, at the discretion of the director, using the following guidelines:

(1) Holes missed due to late arrival may be scored and penalized according to section 804.02.

(2) Inadvertently failing to hole out (as determined by a majority of the group or an official) shall result in 2 penalty throws being added to the number of throws plus penalty throws already taken on the hole. The hole shall then be considered completed.

(3) Intentionally failing to hole out (emergency, injury, plane flight, etc.) constitutes withdrawal from competition. The player shall be withdrawn from competition and officially listed as "Did Not Finish" on the scorecard and in the event results.




Title: Re: Rules Question
Post by: pickax on September 19, 2006, 02:39:09 PM
If it's intential you can be DQ'd, but inadvertently forgetting to hole out will be the number of throws actually made on that hole +2.
Title: Re: Rules Question
Post by: DougEDawg on September 20, 2006, 06:12:50 AM
So if I'm stuck in thick schule 715 ft away, I may just inadvertantly forget to hole out.  ;D
Title: Re: Rules Question
Post by: CEValkyrie on September 20, 2006, 06:59:21 AM
We had that happen at Aurora on Saturday.

We were on our final hole during the 1st round. The player went to pull out his putter and it was not there for his birdie putt on hole #2. He forgot to putt his 8 footer on hole #1. He threw twice and took a +2 penalty for a 4. That stroke cost him $20 and put $20 more in my pocket ;).
Title: Re: Rules Question
Post by: Jon Brakel on September 20, 2006, 08:32:33 PM
Quote from: DougEDawg on September 20, 2006, 06:12:50 AM
So if I'm stuck in thick schule 715 ft away, I may just inadvertantly forget to hole out.  ;D

That would be grounds for the big DQ by the big TD.  ;)