DISContinuum DISCussion

Disc Golf Related => PDGA Discussion => Topic started by: dana on August 31, 2008, 10:53:03 AM

Title: Rules question- I "make" a putt and my putter........
Post by: dana on August 31, 2008, 10:53:03 AM
hits chains, lands in the basket and then goes through the bottom of the basket. 
So basically it is a "made" putt that squeeks out the bottom/side of the basket...

The way that I read the rule (below) is that it does not count.  For some reason I thought that I had read somewhere that it does in fact count...

Should it count?  What do you think?


803.13  Holing Out 
A. A player who fails to play any hole or fails to hole out on any hole during the round may be disqualified, at the discretion of the director, using the following guidelines:
(1) Holes missed due to late arrival may be scored and penalized according to section 804.02.
(2) Inadvertently failing to hole out (as determined by a majority of the group or an official) shall result in 2 penalty throws being added to the number of throws plus penalty throws already taken on the hole. The hole shall then be considered completed.
(3) Intentionally failing to hole out (emergency, injury, plane flight, etc.) constitutes withdrawal from competition. The player shall be withdrawn from competition and officially listed as "Did Not Finish" on the scorecard and in the event results.

B. Disc Entrapment Devices: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the chains or within one of the entrapment sections. This includes a disc wedged into or hanging from the lower entrapment section but excludes a disc resting on top of, or hanging outside of, the upper entrapment section. The disc must also remain within the chains or entrapment sections until removed.


C. Object Targets: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must strike the marked target area on the object as specified by the director.

Title: Re: Rules question- I "make" a putt and my putter........
Post by: pickax on August 31, 2008, 12:08:10 PM
Unfortunately, if the disc was never at rest in the basket it doesn't count.
Title: Re: Rules question- I "make" a putt and my putter........
Post by: dana on August 31, 2008, 12:31:11 PM
Thats a tough one to swallow.  Hasn't happened since I switched from Soft Magnets to JK Aviars.  I have noticed lately that the JK's are getting lodged in the side (inside) of the basket lately.  Its only a matter of time before one pops completely through.
Title: Re: Rules question- I "make" a putt and my putter........
Post by: Jon Brakel on August 31, 2008, 12:44:09 PM
If a player notices a basket can not hold a regulation disc in the bottom of the basket he or she should let the TD know. I always have something with me that can fix those types of problems (like duct tape or gaffers tape).
Title: Re: Rules question- I "make" a putt and my putter........
Post by: pdga#7648 on September 01, 2008, 08:51:43 AM
years ago at Bradley Park in Peoria, several baskets were like that, where u could slide aviars right through. Baskets should be maintained as necessary, just like the rest of the course. Something needs to be said to the TD about certain baskets, and ask ahead of time what will be the result, IF it does in fact happen. JMO
Title: Re: Rules question- I "make" a putt and my putter........
Post by: Bruce Brakel on September 01, 2008, 09:06:54 AM
The original DGA baskets were not designed for the modern smaller diameter discs.