DISContinuum DISCussion

Disc Golf Related => PDGA Discussion => Topic started by: pdga#7648 on August 23, 2009, 06:44:41 PM

Title: Pdga B Tier Tournament question
Post by: pdga#7648 on August 23, 2009, 06:44:41 PM
Was wanting to know a ruling on a certain thing that happened in a tournament round.
4 drives within 20 feet of basket, 2 of them were within 1 foot. I was out and putted 1st. After I made my putt, Player 2 that was 1 foot from pin, picked up his disc, slapped the chains with his disc( never letting go ), then turned and picked up the Player 3's disc, and walked to next tee pad. After player 4 putted,  Player 3 asked where his disc was at?? Player 2 said I got ya Bro, that's how we play here in Indiana, that was a gimmie. Player 3 was furious, and told player 2 that was a penalty, and he wanted to stroke player 2. What is the ruling on that??
Title: Re: Pdga B Tier Tournament question
Post by: OvEr HaNd AsSaSiN on August 23, 2009, 06:51:17 PM
I attended this tourney also.. And let me tell you... worst golf edicate in a tourney that i have ever seen.  I had a streak of 8 birdies in a row going and every single hole i was teeing off last... putting order was who ever got to there discs first.. i guess it was a race..  One hole i had like a ten foot putt and a kid putted out and picked my disc up.. i just went with it... I believe the ruling should be.... respot the disc where the group thinks it was and warn the player that picked it up...
Title: Re: Pdga B Tier Tournament question
Post by: Steven Jacobs on August 23, 2009, 09:08:01 PM
Those Indians are CRAZY!  >:(
Title: Re: Pdga B Tier Tournament question
Post by: pickax on August 24, 2009, 04:56:40 AM

Failure to mark the lie (I'm guessing Player 2 picked up their disc to slap the chains), is a warning for the 1st occurrence. A penalty throw for the subsequent occurrences. 803.03.G
Slapping the chains is a two stroke penalty. 803.13.B

It's two strokes for the player picking up someone else's disc (803.07.C)  and the disc/marker should be returned to the lie as best determined by the majority. (803.07.B). No warning on the two strokes.

So Player 2 should have been assessed 4 strokes.

But by rolling with it, you should also be subject two a two stroke penalty (803.13..A) with a chance at a possible DQ.
Title: Re: Pdga B Tier Tournament question
Post by: pdga#7648 on August 24, 2009, 02:36:28 PM
No, player 3 requested, that the IDIOT player 2, put his disc back to where he thought it was, than asked me and other guy if it was okay there. He then marked his disc, then made his 2. He did it by the rules. So wow 4 strokes, no warning needed.  That is good to know, cause I have 1 more Indiana event on my radar, and I am sure he will be there.
He actually slapped the chains, never releasing disc about 7 different times that round. I know we was on the 4th of 5 cards, but rules are rules. His golf ettiquette was way out in left field, if even in the ball park.

Thanks for the help guys.
Title: Re: Pdga B Tier Tournament question
Post by: dana on September 01, 2009, 07:37:22 AM
Why not pick up a rulebook and read it?  Are you even carrying a rule book?
Title: Re: Pdga B Tier Tournament question
Post by: jack on September 01, 2009, 11:41:08 AM
But what if it's a C-tier tournament?  ::)