DISContinuum DISCussion

Disc Golf Related => Leagues & Tourneys => Topic started by: dana on November 02, 2009, 03:20:24 PM

Title: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: dana on November 02, 2009, 03:20:24 PM
(Taken from http://memorialchampionship.com/)

Rules Proficiency Exam for NT Competitors - Starting in 2010, anyone wanting to compete in a PDGA National Tour event is required to pass a rules proficiency exam well before the start of the tournamanet. This test will be offered online and should be ready from the PDGA by January 1st. The deadline to pass this test before you are moved to the waiting list for the Memorial Championship is Wednesday, February 17th.

I like.
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: tree on November 06, 2009, 01:03:38 AM
interesting....very interesting.
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: jack on November 06, 2009, 11:18:06 AM
Is it really a good idea to prove that not only do the top players not know the rules, they are also functionally illiterate?  ^_^
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: dana on December 18, 2009, 11:02:44 AM
Exam is available.  I'd say even if you don't plan on playing in an NT to take the exam.  It can't hurt, right?

http://www.pdga.com/rules-exam-ready

Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: pickax on December 18, 2009, 11:32:16 AM
Took it for fun closed book. The only one I missed had IMO multiple correct answers.
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: Steven Jacobs on December 18, 2009, 03:58:11 PM
Each time i get to like question 7 it sends me back to question 2! >:(
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: Steven Jacobs on December 18, 2009, 04:03:12 PM
I quit for now, it won't work for me.  I keep getting sent back to the beginning in the middle of the test...
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: CEValkyrie on December 20, 2009, 08:29:55 PM
I got 14 of 15 correct.

I answered D. The correct answer was E.  This is an odd situation to me. The GROUP decided it was out of bounds. If they didn't come to a majority decision I would have answered it as E.

Q:
Tom McManus and his group can not agree on an OB ruling. There is no official available and Tom vehemently disagrees with the group's decision. How can they proceed?


A. Let groups play through while they wait for an official.   
B. The group could simply give the benefit of the doubt to Tom and continue play.   
C. Tom can play under protest and inform the group that he will be appealing the group's decision to the PDGA.   
D. Tom may play provisional shots from where he feels the lie should be.   The group can either reach a majority decision with the benefit of the doubt going to the thrower may use provisional throw(s). (803.01 C (3))
E. Either B or D.   
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: ChrisPUTTS on December 20, 2009, 08:49:56 PM
I got 13 of 15 correct..  i missed

Bill Bluster is seen by the tournament official drinking a beer during a tournament round at a B Tier. The director should...?

i thought a warning should be issued when in fact "Disqualify the player immediately including forfeiture of entry fee and prizes, and report the incident to the PDGA."

Walter Kaolin is examining his lie on Hole number two. He pulls out a range finder to measure the distance from his lie to the target. Two members of his group see him using the range finder. What should they do?

I wasn't sure what this answer was other than the fact i knew this was not allowed.  Choices were
A) Ask to borrow the rangefinder.   
B) Add one penalty throw to Walter's score.   
C) Have Walter disqualified by the Tournament Director.   
D) Add two penalty throws to Walter's score.   
E) None of the above

i picked D... but E was the correct answer..
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: pickax on December 21, 2009, 04:31:45 AM
Quote from: CEValkyrie on December 20, 2009, 08:29:55 PM
I got 14 of 15 correct.

I answered D. The correct answer was E.  This is an odd situation to me. The GROUP decided it was out of bounds. If they didn't come to a majority decision I would have answered it as E.

Q:
Tom McManus and his group can not agree on an OB ruling. There is no official available and Tom vehemently disagrees with the group's decision. How can they proceed?


A. Let groups play through while they wait for an official.   
B. The group could simply give the benefit of the doubt to Tom and continue play.   
C. Tom can play under protest and inform the group that he will be appealing the group's decision to the PDGA.   
D. Tom may play provisional shots from where he feels the lie should be.   The group can either reach a majority decision with the benefit of the doubt going to the thrower may use provisional throw(s). (803.01 C (3))
E. Either B or D.   


I missed this one as well. IMO the correct answer should have been Either A or B or D. The question doesn't say whether an official is readily available or not. The rule actually in question is 803.01 D (3) for those that wish to look it up.
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: pickax on December 21, 2009, 04:33:17 AM
Quote from: ChrisPUTTS on December 20, 2009, 08:49:56 PM

Walter Kaolin is examining his lie on Hole number two. He pulls out a range finder to measure the distance from his lie to the target. Two members of his group see him using the range finder. What should they do?

I wasn't sure what this answer was other than the fact i knew this was not allowed.  Choices were
A) Ask to borrow the rangefinder.   
B) Add one penalty throw to Walter's score.   
C) Have Walter disqualified by the Tournament Director.   
D) Add two penalty throws to Walter's score.   
E) None of the above

i picked D... but E was the correct answer..

How is E the correct answer under 802.04?
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: Chainmeister on December 21, 2009, 02:02:26 PM
Quote from: pickax on December 21, 2009, 04:33:17 AM
Quote from: ChrisPUTTS on December 20, 2009, 08:49:56 PM

Walter Kaolin is examining his lie on Hole number two. He pulls out a range finder to measure the distance from his lie to the target. Two members of his group see him using the range finder. What should they do?

I wasn't sure what this answer was other than the fact i knew this was not allowed.  Choices were
A) Ask to borrow the rangefinder.   
B) Add one penalty throw to Walter's score.   
C) Have Walter disqualified by the Tournament Director.   
D) Add two penalty throws to Walter's score.   
E) None of the above

i picked D... but E was the correct answer..

How is E the correct answer under 802.04?

I have to agree with Mike unless this is a trick question becuase they cannot add the two penalty throws. They have to tell Walter to do it and can probably have him dq'd if he refuses to do so.
Title: Re: Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors
Post by: stpitner on December 21, 2009, 05:58:17 PM
i would seriously talk to the pdga about that one question with the vehemently disagreeing with an OB ruling - I would vehemently disagree with any lie that lands "supposedly" in this "ob" land, and they always have to give me benefit of the doubt? that's not right.