News:

Best Shot Doubles every Sunday check the Home page for the schedule.

Main Menu

general tourney questions

Started by Adam R, July 14, 2005, 10:10:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mirth

if two or more players on your card second the call then he has to reputt. subsequent violations incur a one stroke penalty w/o warning.  
Don't forget your towel!

mirth

#21
Oops, my bad. Only one player on the card needs to call the falling putt. Here's the whole rule:

Quote803.03  STANCE, Subsequent to Teeing Off 
A. When the disc is released, a player must:
(1) Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the playing surface on the line of play and within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc (except as specified in 803.03 E); and,
(2) have no supporting point contact with the marker disc or any object closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,
(3) have all of his or her supporting points in-bounds.

B. Stepping past the marker disc is permitted after the disc is released, except when putting within 10 meters.

C. Any throw from within 10 meters or less, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the hole, is considered a putt. A follow-through after a putt that causes the thrower to make any supporting point contact closer to the hole than the rear edge of the mini marker disc constitutes a falling putt and is not allowed. The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the hole.

D. A player must choose the stance that will result in the least movement of any part of any obstacle that is a permanent or integral part of the course.

E. If a large solid obstacle prevents a player from taking a legal stance within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc, the player shall take his or her stance immediately behind that obstacle on the line of play. The player must comply with all the provisions of 803.03 A other than being within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc.

F. A stance violation must be clearly called within three seconds after the infraction to be valid. The call may be made by any member of the group or an official. When the call is made by a member of the group, it must subsequently be confirmed by another member of the group. A player shall receive a warning for the first violation of a stance rule in the round. Subsequent violations of a stance rule in the same round shall incur a one-throw penalty.

G. Any throw that involves a validly called and seconded stance violation may not be used by the thrower. Re-throws must be taken from the original lie. Re-throws must be taken prior to subsequent play by others in the group.

H. The player may not retrieve the originally thrown disc prior to the re-throw, except in the case of a putt from within 10 meters. Where a disc is retrieved in violation of this rule, a one throw penalty shall be imposed without a warning.
Don't forget your towel!

Brian

QuoteAlso after you make a putt, take it out of the basket before the next person putts.

Brian,

Are you referring to me about taking my putter out or are you talking to someone else? I am just wondering because I normally do take my putter out (assuming I get the darn thing INTO the basket).

Thanks,

After a person makes their putt please take out their putter out of the basket.
Play overalls

Jon Brakel

QuoteOops, my bad. Only one player on the card needs to call the falling putt.

QuoteF. A stance violation must be clearly called within three seconds after the infraction to be valid. The call may be made by any member of the group or an official. When the call is made by a member of the group, it must subsequently be confirmed by another member of the group. A player shall receive a warning for the first violation of a stance rule in the round. Subsequent violations of a stance rule in the same round shall incur a one-throw penalty.
The way I read the rule is that while only one person has to call a stance violation, it must be seconded if the person calling it is in the same group as the person who it was called upon.

An official can call a stance violation without there being a second.
72 PDGA TD reports completed and submitted.

PDGA IR Stats!

Bruce Brakel

Dan's interpretation of the rule is correct.  For a stance violation you call it.  If someone seconds it, the violation is a warning and he must re-throw.  The second violation is a penalty and he has to re-throw.  If no one in your group will second a valid call, bring that to the TD.  If someone seconds it, you don't have to bring it to the TD.  The other player does.  
Play Mokena Big D Doubles
September 11, 2011

mirth

today was not a good reading or rules interpretation day for me.  
Don't forget your towel!