Rules Proficency Exam for 2010 NT Competitors

Started by dana, November 02, 2009, 03:20:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dana

(Taken from http://memorialchampionship.com/)

Rules Proficiency Exam for NT Competitors - Starting in 2010, anyone wanting to compete in a PDGA National Tour event is required to pass a rules proficiency exam well before the start of the tournamanet. This test will be offered online and should be ready from the PDGA by January 1st. The deadline to pass this test before you are moved to the waiting list for the Memorial Championship is Wednesday, February 17th.

I like.
Vibram Disc Golf, Ledgestone Insurance, Paragon and Whirld Sports are all cool. Real cool.

tree

Tree
#20862


Quit work, play disc golf :)

jack

Is it really a good idea to prove that not only do the top players not know the rules, they are also functionally illiterate?  ^_^

dana

Exam is available.  I'd say even if you don't plan on playing in an NT to take the exam.  It can't hurt, right?

http://www.pdga.com/rules-exam-ready

Vibram Disc Golf, Ledgestone Insurance, Paragon and Whirld Sports are all cool. Real cool.

pickax

Took it for fun closed book. The only one I missed had IMO multiple correct answers.
Mike Krupicka
PDGA #28238
IL State Coordinator

Steven Jacobs

Each time i get to like question 7 it sends me back to question 2! >:(

Steven Jacobs

I quit for now, it won't work for me.  I keep getting sent back to the beginning in the middle of the test...

CEValkyrie

I got 14 of 15 correct.

I answered D. The correct answer was E.  This is an odd situation to me. The GROUP decided it was out of bounds. If they didn't come to a majority decision I would have answered it as E.

Q:
Tom McManus and his group can not agree on an OB ruling. There is no official available and Tom vehemently disagrees with the group's decision. How can they proceed?


A. Let groups play through while they wait for an official.   
B. The group could simply give the benefit of the doubt to Tom and continue play.   
C. Tom can play under protest and inform the group that he will be appealing the group's decision to the PDGA.   
D. Tom may play provisional shots from where he feels the lie should be.   The group can either reach a majority decision with the benefit of the doubt going to the thrower may use provisional throw(s). (803.01 C (3))
E. Either B or D.   
Brett Comincioli
19325
Former PDGA IL State Coordinator (07-12)
DISContinuum DGC President

#1 in Chicago Disc Golf Course Design
www.windycitydiscgolf.com

Check out my course reviews
http://www.dgcoursereview.com/profile.php?id=1910

ChrisPUTTS

I got 13 of 15 correct..  i missed

Bill Bluster is seen by the tournament official drinking a beer during a tournament round at a B Tier. The director should...?

i thought a warning should be issued when in fact "Disqualify the player immediately including forfeiture of entry fee and prizes, and report the incident to the PDGA."

Walter Kaolin is examining his lie on Hole number two. He pulls out a range finder to measure the distance from his lie to the target. Two members of his group see him using the range finder. What should they do?

I wasn't sure what this answer was other than the fact i knew this was not allowed.  Choices were
A) Ask to borrow the rangefinder.   
B) Add one penalty throw to Walter's score.   
C) Have Walter disqualified by the Tournament Director.   
D) Add two penalty throws to Walter's score.   
E) None of the above

i picked D... but E was the correct answer..
PDGA #33953

pickax

Quote from: CEValkyrie on December 20, 2009, 08:29:55 PM
I got 14 of 15 correct.

I answered D. The correct answer was E.  This is an odd situation to me. The GROUP decided it was out of bounds. If they didn't come to a majority decision I would have answered it as E.

Q:
Tom McManus and his group can not agree on an OB ruling. There is no official available and Tom vehemently disagrees with the group's decision. How can they proceed?


A. Let groups play through while they wait for an official.   
B. The group could simply give the benefit of the doubt to Tom and continue play.   
C. Tom can play under protest and inform the group that he will be appealing the group's decision to the PDGA.   
D. Tom may play provisional shots from where he feels the lie should be.   The group can either reach a majority decision with the benefit of the doubt going to the thrower may use provisional throw(s). (803.01 C (3))
E. Either B or D.   


I missed this one as well. IMO the correct answer should have been Either A or B or D. The question doesn't say whether an official is readily available or not. The rule actually in question is 803.01 D (3) for those that wish to look it up.
Mike Krupicka
PDGA #28238
IL State Coordinator

pickax

Quote from: ChrisPUTTS on December 20, 2009, 08:49:56 PM

Walter Kaolin is examining his lie on Hole number two. He pulls out a range finder to measure the distance from his lie to the target. Two members of his group see him using the range finder. What should they do?

I wasn't sure what this answer was other than the fact i knew this was not allowed.  Choices were
A) Ask to borrow the rangefinder.   
B) Add one penalty throw to Walter's score.   
C) Have Walter disqualified by the Tournament Director.   
D) Add two penalty throws to Walter's score.   
E) None of the above

i picked D... but E was the correct answer..

How is E the correct answer under 802.04?
Mike Krupicka
PDGA #28238
IL State Coordinator

Chainmeister

Quote from: pickax on December 21, 2009, 04:33:17 AM
Quote from: ChrisPUTTS on December 20, 2009, 08:49:56 PM

Walter Kaolin is examining his lie on Hole number two. He pulls out a range finder to measure the distance from his lie to the target. Two members of his group see him using the range finder. What should they do?

I wasn't sure what this answer was other than the fact i knew this was not allowed.  Choices were
A) Ask to borrow the rangefinder.   
B) Add one penalty throw to Walter's score.   
C) Have Walter disqualified by the Tournament Director.   
D) Add two penalty throws to Walter's score.   
E) None of the above

i picked D... but E was the correct answer..

How is E the correct answer under 802.04?

I have to agree with Mike unless this is a trick question becuase they cannot add the two penalty throws. They have to tell Walter to do it and can probably have him dq'd if he refuses to do so.

stpitner

i would seriously talk to the pdga about that one question with the vehemently disagreeing with an OB ruling - I would vehemently disagree with any lie that lands "supposedly" in this "ob" land, and they always have to give me benefit of the doubt? that's not right.
PDGA #30192
2012 Bag Tag #23

Need plastic?  Visit www.paperorplasticsports.com!
Our Official Apparel